BMW celebrates 40 years at Sebring

Stepping back in time: BMW Motorsport unveils a tribute livery for its Z4 GTLM line-up on this year’s 12 Hours of Sebring, 40 year’s since the marque’s first event win.

[Not a valid template]

Fresh from its, er, ‘introduction’ to the new M6 GT3 the company will compete with in GT campaigns across the 2016 motorsport season, BMW has also unveiled a tributary livery the BMW Team RLL-run Z4 GTLMs will use during the 63rd 12 Hours of Sebring.

Now 40 years since BMW’s first Sebring victory with the BMW 3.0 CSL, car #25 will sport the same colours as used by the BMW 3.0 CSL that Brian Redman, Sam Posey and Hans-Joachim Stuck took to victory lane at the Sebring International Raceway in 1975. It would be another 24 years though before BMW Motorsport took another Sebring victory, at the ’99 event with the V12 LMR driven by JJ Lehto, Jörg Müller and Tom Kristensen. And yes, Mr Le Mans also holds the record for the most 12 Hours of Sebring victories with six.

Old-school Beemer fans looking for more action may want to check out Project CARS too…

Categories: Race


Comments are closed