Radical Middle East Cup 2013/2014. All set for debut

Round one of the Radical Middle East Cup at Yas Marina Circuit welcomes several new drivers to the fold.

[Not a valid template]

The first round of the 2013/2014 Radical Middle East Cup will take place this weekend at Yas Marina, the now-regional series attracting a fresh crop of international drivers ahead of its inaugural run.

Former FIA Formula 2 champion Dean Stoneman, who raced this year in the Porsche Carrera Cup Great Britain, makes his series debut in the Dragon Racing SR8 alongside Radical regular and Blancpain Endurance Series driver Jordan Grogor. Also making their Radical Middle East Cup bow are Scott Balsden and Ollie Smith, who will compete in Abu Dhabi for Globaleye. Another notable newcomer is inaugural Nissan GT Academy Middle East winner Salman Al Khater, who will share driving duties with Qatari Mohamed Al Ghanem.

Last year’s series runner-up Mohammed Jawa returns for another shot at the top spot in the GR8 Radical SR3. The Saudi local faces competition from returning rivals Amro Al Hamd and Salem and Mohamed Nusif, who will race the Shell Qatar SR3 and Kuwait SR3 respectively. Graeme Hannah and Mark Jordan return to action with EMAL Racing. It has not yet been confirmed whether reigning Radical Winter Cup champion Tarek Elgammal will compete this season.

Round one of the 2013/2014 Radical Middle East Cup will include qualifying sessions and two 45-minute sprint races. Competitors will compete in either the 435bhp Radical SR8s or 265bhp SR3s, depending on their assigned category. In addition to the Yas Marina Circuit, the series will also visit the Dubai Autodrome, the Bahrain International Circuit and the Losail International Circuit in Qatar.

– Shots from last season’s Radical Winter Cup courtesy of David Benson

2013/2014 Radical Middle East Cup
17-18 October: Round 1 Yas Marina Circuit GP (UAE)
21-22 November: Round 2 Dubai Autodrome (UAE)
12-13 December: Round 3 Dubai Autodrome (UAE)
17-18 January 2014: Round 4 Bahrain International Circuit (BAH)
31 Jan-1 Feb: Round 5 Losail International Circuit (QAT)
14-15 February: Round 6 Dubai Autodrome (UAE)
27-28 March: Round 7 Yas Marina Circuit South (UAE)

Categories: Race


Comments are closed